People Like Us

Writing Call

blank

Writing is an endeavor that transports me to a place of limited return. Delving into childhood memories is therapeutic, but exhausting. The journey through time, that place I left behind long ago, demands my complete attention. I feel like Alice must have felt as she tumbled down the rabbit hole, lost in a world from which it is difficult to return. I am captured in the gravity that pulls me to that other place, and only reluctantly return to modern-day responsibilities that demand my attention. The act of sharing the things I put behind me, the things I tried to forget for so long, removes the power of shame and unleashes freedom found in raw truth. The page waits for me, it even calls me.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Writing Call

  1. Dorothy Muston on said:

    Karen, you should never be ashamed. Your past or growing up years have made you who you are now. I am so proud of you,

Leave a Reply

